Marketing a Freelance Design Business and Sourcing Clients – Is Paid Advertising a Good Strategy?

I've been a freelance graphic designer for over 5 years. I'm looking for a new way to find clients in a more automated way than just applying for gigs here and there.

My current social media presence is terrible – but my website portfolio is very strong. So I'm specifically looking for methods of leading people directly to my website, and not through a social media platform first. For this reason I am considering paid ad campaigns on Google or Reddit or other platforms.

The reception has been great to the website, and I think that the website itself is at least good enough to convert your average graphic design client. The structure of the portfolio is split into different skills and industries, so my plan for paid ads would be to target a specific niche like Packaging Design, and have the ad route directly to that part of my portfolio. So someone interested in packaging will just see my work in that area, with a contact form at the bottom of the page if they are interested in that service.

My biggest question now is whether it will be a total waste of money to do paid advertising campaigns for a graphic design business. If it is a viable strategy, what are my best options for ad platforms? Google adwords, Reddit, etc.?

Otherwise, are there other automated ways of sourcing clients that I am missing? The other option I am considering is having sales people on my team that constantly generate leads and cold email them.

from Fanning Plumbers https://ift.tt/2NjQYNh
via https://ift.tt/1BhYf61

Leave a comment